# MINUTES TEXAS GIRLS COACHES ASSOCIATION SUNDAY, MARCH 5, 2006

Location: UIL Building 1701 Manor Road—Austin, Texas

#### MEMBERS PRESENT

Sam Tipton, Executive Director
Leann Johnston, President
Alex Koulovatos, 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President
Debra Manley, 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President
Ray Baca, Past President
Lee Grisham, Volleyball Committee Chair
Wayne Johnson, Basketball Committee Chair
Linda Richter, Track Committee Chair
Bryan Vandiver, Softball Committee Chair
Danni Engle, Sub-Varsity Committee Chair
Lynn Pool, Basketball Committee Vice Chair
Stefani Shortes, Sub-Varsity Comm Vice Chair

Leland Bearden, Sr. Reg. 1 Terry Lowrey, Jr. Reg. 1 Mike Martin, Sr. Reg. 2 Rodnev Gee, Jr. Reg. 2 Laura Meinzer, Sr. Reg. 3 Kit Kyle Puckett, Jr. Reg. 3 Linda Godwin, Sr. Reg. 4 Janie Litchford, Jr. Reg. 4 Donna Benotti, Sr. Reg. 5 Susan Willis, Jr. Reg. 5 Lovd Morgan, Sr., Reg. 6 Jan Newland, Jr. Reg. 6 Rodney Vigil, Sr. Reg. 7 René Garza, Jr. Reg 7 Rick Keith, Sr. Reg. 8 Jim Eubank, Jr. Reg. 8

This meeting was called to order by Leann Johnston (Tyler Chapel Hill H.S.), President of the Texas Girls Coaches Association.

## **Approval of Minutes**

A motion was made by Loyd Morgan (Rogers High School) to approve the minutes and seconded by Leland Bearden (Smyer High School). Motion passed.

#### **Itinerary Report**

Sam Tipton, Executive Director presented the itinerary report to the board. Jan Newland (Leander High School) moved to accept the itinerary report and Kit Kyle Puckett (Marcus High School) seconded.

Motion passed.

#### **Travel Report**

Sam Tipton, Executive Director gave the travel report and Leland Bearden (Smyer High School) made a motion to accept the report and a second was made by Kit Kyle Puckett (Marcus High School).

Motion passed.

#### **Financial Report**

Sam Tipton, Executive Director, presented the financial report to the board. Motion was made by Rick Keith (Alpine High School) and a second made by Kit Kyle Puckett (Marcus High School) to accept the report.

Motion passed.

The Executive Committee then went into executive session. When the meeting was called back into open session, by the President, Leann Johnston, a motion was made by Kit Kyle Puckett (Marcus High School) to extend the contract of the Executive Director, Sam Tipton. A second was made by Rick Keith (Alpine High School). Motion passed.

#### **UIL Report**

Rachel Harrison, Charles Breithtaupt, Peter Contreras

#### **Summer Clinic Report**

Alex Koulavotos

## **Volleyball Committee Report**

Lee Grisham, Committee Chair

#### **Basketball Committee Report**

Wayne Johnson, Committee Chair (Goldthwaite High School) reported that the committee supports the idea of trying the All-Star games grouped by classification. Proposed that we unify the All-Star and All-State nominations' deadline for all sports to be 12:00 noon the Monday before the state tournament/meet of that sport.

#### **Track Committee Report**

Linda Richter, Committee Chair

# **Softball Committee Report**

Bryan Vandiver, Committee Chair

# **Sub-Varsity Committee Report**

Danni Engle, Committee Chair

#### **Executive Committee Report:**

Ray Baca, TGCA Past President (Hereford High School), submitted two EC proposals:

## EC1:

The Executive Committee proposes that we establish a Distinguished Service Award to be presented at the Honor Awards Luncheon at summer clinic. The purpose of this award would be to honor an individual who over a long and sustained period of time, has contributed and impacted girls' athletics and the member coaches of TGCA in an exemplary manner. This individual will be selected <u>outside of the coaching profession</u>. A second was made by Leland Bearden (Smyer High School). Proposal passed.

#### EC2:

The awards for Hall of Fame, Honor Coach and Distinguished Service will be determined by a <u>Selection Committee</u> made up of the Executive Committee and the Executive Director. Nominations will be made by member coaches of TGCA. The selections will be made at the UIL state girls' basketball tournament, at a time and place determined by the President, who will also serve as the chair of the committee. A second was made by Leland Bearden (Smyer High School). Proposal passed.

## **New Business**

A motion was made by Mike Martin (Snyder High School) that we select Bruce White as the Sportswriter-of-the-Year. A second was made by Kit Kyle Puckett (Marcus High School). Motion passed.

Mike Martin (Snyder High School) moved that we name the TGCA Distinguished Service Award after Margaret McKown. Leland Bearden (Smyer High School) seconded the motion. Motion passed.

# Adjourn

A motion was made by Leland Bearden (Smyer High School) to adjourn and a second was made by Kit Kyle Puckett (Marcus High School). Motion passed.